little mad riding hood
    Jun 2004

West Mag Survey - time to speak up guys.

Hi all,

Of all people, I got this survey link from the Boulder Nordic Club. Yep, that's right, the skinny-ski pinheads. Full disclosure: I am a skate junkie.

Anyway that's beside the point. There has been a LOT of chin music in this forum over the years about the state of the trails and their destiny in West Mag. This survey <--- (clicky linky) has tons of customizable options so I would encourage anyone who's ever gotten involved in a West Mag trail thread kerfuffle in this forum to go fill it out. I don't even care what answers you give because I'm all for diversity of options - I have been riding these trails since 2001 and I remember when there was a bunch of sweet primitive singletrack and self-built trestle up there, too.

I'm all for maximizing trail network / use / connectivity and optimizing use for everyone, whether it's the awesome remote primitive techy stuff up on School Bus / Tennesee Mtn / Rollinsville connections, or building good progressive trail closer in to e.g. assist Boulder High School MTB club juniors on the learning curve.

I'm also a fan of building enough trails of enough types that you have the potential to designate user/use profiles, whether it's building a DH / jumps / rock garden for MTB expert-only, or giving the equestrians / hikers a managed loop where they won't have to worry about dogs or bikes or whatever. The more you build, and the more connectivity to other big networks & rides that you can provide, the more you disperse users and alleviate conflicts.

idk if we can totally get there in the context of West Mag, but it would sure be fun to try.

Thanks for your time - Beth Rowley aka lfr

Agent of tang
    Aug 2005
    already filled it out.