mtbr member
    Apr 2004

Trails for newbies

There was some discussion on the Heil thread below about what constituted a complete newbie trail. I'm talking you bought a bike for your gf/wife/bf/whoever, they're tentative as heck, don't how to shift gears and talk at the same time...you know, complete newbie.

In no particular order (hey, you have to start somewhere):

Bluebird Meadow Trail/Wild Iris Loop/maybe Homestead.
    These are at Alderfer.

Meyer's Homestead Trail. This starts at the Meyer's Gulch parking lot on the way to Walker.

Coyote Song Trail. This is in South Valley Park near Ken-Caryl.

None of these has much elevation gain and are pretty smooth. If the newbie seems to be into it, then:

Up Evergreen Mountain, West or East sides.

Centennial Cone
    if they seem to like climbing and are now reasonably fit. It doesn't matter that The Cone is about as smooth as single track can be, the elevation gain can be tough on newbies.

Then Deer Creek Canyon Park. Just kidding. Where would you take a complete newbie for their first ride? I know, I know, Dakota Ridge right?
    A blind man searches in a dark room for a black hat that isn't there. Dashiell Hammett

mtbr member
    I learned at Green Mountain which has alot of trails. Lots of beginner trails there with a few more technical trails. The climb up the fire road is a ***** though

mtbr member
    Once the snow melts, Buffalo Creek and Waterton Canyon~Indian Creek are both good options. Golden Gate Canynon has some easy rides as well (just don't take them down Mtn Lion)

a dad
    Jan 2004
    good thread..

i am teaching my gf to ride this year and we started with waterton last fall before the snow... and we did Green mountain (she didn't like the climb much, but she did really well)..

i think the key is to not get them in over their heads for awhile so they enjoy it..