mtbr member
    Dec 2007

Shock Setup - Dakota Ridge

I took my new (to me) Yeti ASR Full suspension out the other day on Dakota Ridge. I am new to this FS stuff as I have been riding a hardtail for years. My bike has the RP-23, and I have the rebound set at 3 clicks from fast.

I took 3 diggers! I haven't wiped out like that in years, and I know I am not riding the suspension correctly. I am looking for suggestions on how you all use your shox. I am using the ProPedal (2) on the uphills with the fork almost rigid, but when I was doing the slow-going tech stuff downhill on Dakota ridge, I had both shocks fully open. Is this wrong? My diggers were mostly over the bars, but I can't see setting the rebound much differently. My bike shop is also adjusting the bars to be more aggressive/down-turned, as they are currently angled upwards, kinda like a Downhill setup.

I'm not a newbie (to riding anyways), but I am a newbie to a FS. Is there anyone who feels like narrating a typical MW/Dakota ridge loop for me and how they adjust their shocks along the way?

i know..i know...dakota ridge was probably not the smartest ride to go on with this being my first time on this new bike, but it was the closest thing dry and I am usually pretty good at tech stuff.

Advice? Please?

Thanks in advance!

I heart the drops
    sounds like you werent going fast enough for the terrain and the rebound sent you over the bars maybe?
    "its not how slack your head angle is, its how you ride the bike"

Gaa-zee-raaaa!