mtbr member
    Jan 2013

September in Boulder . . .

I'm heading to Boulder for three weeks in September and will have some prime time for fishing and maybe biking. Since I'm coming from the Midwest, I have to decide if it's worth it to bring my bike with me. Here's the deal - I'm an old guy - 65 yrs old - and I'm also a beginner. I've spent the summer doing single track rides at most of the area parks in the Twin Cities and can handle intermediate stuff pretty handily. I'd like to do some riding in Colorado, though. I am riding a Cannondale Trail SL 1 29er hardtail, and it has worked perfectly for me in the Midwest.

So - are there some trails that will be suitable for me within a couple hours of Boulder? And should I bring my bike (which I would prefer) or would it be better for me to rent something while I'm there? I'm willing to drive a ways and I have a place to stay in Frisco if I need to.

Any suggestions/opinions would greatly be appreciated!

Thanks,
    Dean

mtbr member
    Apr 2004
    My guess is you're going to be spending more time fishing than biking. Yes, there are easier trails here but that's from our perspective. In Frisco you could just rent something and cruise around Lake Dillon, maybe bike up the bike path to the top of Vail Pass (or halfway and turn around). With all respect, no matter what the young riders on this forum might say, at 65 this isn't the time for you to attempt to become an accomplished mountain biker.

Of course, if bringing your bike is just no big deal at all, why not bring it? The Marshall Mesa/Springbrook area is what we call easy and is close to Boulder and you could start there and see how you feel. Then head to Sourdough...just kidding.

BTW, you couldn't have picked a nicer month to come. Congrats on your timing.
    A blind man searches in a dark room for a black hat that isn't there. Dashiell Hammett

mtbr member
    Nov 2008