mtbr member
    May 2011

RIP 9 Build out for Front Range Proposal - Feedback please

I posted recently here about moving from Michigan to Denver. I am strongly considering building up a RIP 9 here for out there. Here is what the shop here proposes and I wanted to get some feedback from you guys. (keep in mind I am not tech savvy on these issues---just not handy at all and all I do is ride and let the shops take care of the rest) thanks in advance for the feedback.

Frame 2011 Niner RIP9
    Fork RockShox Reba RLT Ti
    F Wheel Stans ZTR/Arch
    R Wheel Stans ZTR/Arch
    F Brake Avid Elixir R
    R Brake Avid Elixir R
    F Shifter SRAM X7
    R Shifter SRAM X7
    F Der SRAM X7
    R Der SRAM X9
    Cassette SRAM 1050
    Crank SRAM X9
    Chain SRAM 1050
    F Tire Maxxis Crossmark
    R Tire Maxxis Crossmark
    F Tube Presta
    R Tube Presta
    Headset Cane Creek Tapered
    Seatpost TruVativ Stylo Team
    Seatpost Clamp Included
    Handlebar TruVativ Stylo Team
    Grips SRAM Lock-on
    Stem TruVativ Stylo Team
    Saddle WTB Rocket V

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I'd do Flow rims instead of the Arch. Oh, and get a protection plate for the bottom...rocky out here.

Gaa-zee-raaaa!
    Probably not a big deal, but since you asked... I'd spring the few extra $ for the X9 shifters after having pulled apart both X7 and X9 shifters last weekend - the X7s are cheesy, flimsy and prone to fly apart, by comparison.
    Now with more vitriol!

ride
    I'd stay away from the Stan's complete wheels. The Arch's are good rims if you're a relatively smooth rider. I had 'em for a while with no problems. I have found the rear hubs to be problematic, though. Stan's has taken care of the warranty issues, but I'd rather just not deal with it. There's better hubs out there.
    Redstone Cyclery
    turner*intense*transition*REEB*Rocky Mt
    web - tweet - FB
    Lyons, CO

Rigid in Evergreen
    I think the big question here is going to be tire selection.