Resident Gear Head

Riding Colorado Springs Tuesday

So I am new to the sport and have been doing a lot of riding on Falcon Trail and a bit at Palmer. I don't really like Palmer Park and I have done Falcon too much recently, I need somewhere new. I have Tuesday off work but I do have plans at 1:30. I have been looking at Captain Jacks, Buckhorn Loop, and The Chutes on singletracks.com Is this a good loop? Does anyone have any tips or driving/riding directions? Also if anyone wants to join in let me know.
    2 Hands Working Do More Than 1000 Hands Praying

Chillaxin 'n Chilcotin!
    Yes, that's a really fun combination of loops. Cap'n Jacks has a lot of pea gravel on it and can be pretty loose at times--it might be a little daunting at first, but you will quickly get the feel for it. If you're in really good shape, you can start by riding up the Chutes, going up Gold Camp Road to Buckhorn, and then doing Jacks back down to Gold Camp and then back down the Chutes. That is a pretty solid ride though so you might be better off just driving to the top of North Cheyenne Canyon Rd and going up Buckhorn, down CJ's and then back up Gold Camp to where you parked. That loop is probably about 7 miles and about 1,200 feet of climbing. If you start at the Chutes, it's probably about 12 miles and 2,000 feet of climbing. (someone with a GPS can probably correct me with the exact stats and Strava KOM times )

Other areas I would recommend hitting are Cheyenne Mountain State Park and the Mt Herman Preserve in Monument. Both of those have a very similar feel to the Falcon Trail and have a lot of fun loops you can put together.

Resident Gear Head
    I have run Mt Herman, it was fun but the trail sorta ended and I got lost-ish. I connected some stuff but it was too short of a ride. I will prob try the shorter loop you described, thanks

mtbr member
    May 2007