Thread: Rattlesnakes

mtbr member

Rattlesnakes

So they're definitely out now. Being a newbie here to Colorado, I"m not sure what to make of them. I assume the risk is pretty small while riding. Just have to watch where I step when I dab or dismount, right?

I saw two today, although they could have been bull snakes as I'm not sure if I can tell the difference while zipping past on my bike.

Gaa-zee-raaaa!
    I've never heard of anyone being bit while riding, even off of the bike. I ran right over one last week and apart from scaring the p!ss out of me, everything was fine. You will likely see them quite a bit if you pay attention, but I wouldn't worry about it. Just watch where you step and sit (they hang out in, under and around rocks) you should be fine.
    Last edited by Godzilla; 05-29-2009 at 07:53 PM.
    Now with more vitriol!

GL1
    mtbr member
    Mar 2007

Rattlers

This thread comes up every spring.

As a former JCOS employee I can tell you that the risk on your bike is very slim. You will almost always see them and hear them going uphill. Downhill, you are going too fast for them to strike you. Plus, you usually startle them (if they heard you, you wouldn't see them) and they are typically stretched out and not coiled on the trail.

The #1 way people get bitten are typically trail runners with i-pods etc. in both ears. They simply don't hear them. Also, sitting down on a rock without looking around it can be bad. But yeah, being on your bike is the best really.

Where were you riding when you saw two of them? Just curious.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Seen them on Apex and Mathew's Winter's so far this year.

mtbr member
    Where were you riding when you saw two of them? Just curious.
    I was at HTMP/Lory. I did some research and figured out that the two I saw today were probably bull snakes. But I'm pretty sure I ran over a rattler on the FTC Spring Creek trail last week.

holding back the darkness