Thread: PSA - Apex

mtbr member

PSA - Apex

This is just a PSA: watch your speed and trail etiquette at Apex. This afternoon, there were two full-time Jeffco Open Space Rangers at the very bottom, WIDE part of the trail, almost near the concrete bike path, purposely standing (literally) in the middle of the trail (not hiking, not moving at all), just baiting mountain bikers to go around them, only to them pull them over and issue them a ticket or a warning if you actually did.

So, when you see a Ranger, even on a really wide part of the trail, you best just stop. I was "lucky" and only got a written warning. A ticket would have been $50.00 according to the handout i was presented with.

The Ranger that "talked" to me (Martin was his name) had a serious power trip attitude, actually raised his voice, never took of his sunglasses (I did - FYI, common courtesy), and was very unprofessional. I'm a sworn officer myself, and this guy needs a lesson in how not to take things personally. As I was approaching, I saw that he was a Ranger and that he was talking to another biker so I slowed down to what I thought was a crawl (but was apparently not enough to him), made face-to-face contact, went around him on the trail, to his left with plenty of room (but apparently not enough for him), and it didn't matter. They honestly expect you to basically come to a stop, regardless of trail width or condition. Be warned.

Oh, and if you have a dual crown fork on your bike and look like you know what your doing, it won't matter what you do. I fear that the Rangers may profile just a little bit. While we were talking, an older gentleman rolled by us on a hardtail, pertty much doing the exact same thing I did, without so much as a word. Nice, Jeffco, nice.