mtbr member
    Sep 2008

Physically challenging trails w/ nice scenery but not technical

I'm just getting into mountain biking (been road biking for a long time) and I've gone out with a few friends. First of all, I stink at it. I'm not very good with technical portions. I've gone to Hidden Mesa and the Waterton Canyon/Roxborough Loop. I crashed multiple times on both rides, on Roxborough I tacoed my wheel too. But I was feeling great going up hill and basically had to wait around for everyone else while we took multiple stops and they caught their breath.

My friends like the technical and downhill stuff, they go to Moab twice a year. I'm just not ready for that. Crashing 10 times on a ride isn't fun to me. So I know the only way to keep going out there with them is to find trails that are not technical, but still involve good scenery and a physical challenge. Then I can invite them along. I have a 29 inch hardtail with 80mm travel front fork. If I understand correctly my bike is more geared around XC riding anyway.

Any suggestions on Front Range rides that fit that criteria? So far I've only got a few ideas, I've never been to these places, this is just what I've read:
    Mt. Falcon
    Green Mountain
    Lair o' The Bear
    Bear Creek Lake

Any other ideas?

mtbr member
    Sounds like you'd be a good candidate to be pedalling a bigger bike...Nomad or 6.6? These bikes can compensate (to a degree) for your lack of techy kung-fu, and slow you down a bit by its weight for your buddies.
    Naysayers never apologize. Critics go to their grave thinking everyone else is wrong.
    ╭∩╮( º.º )╭∩╮

Stand back
    You're in the same category right now as my wife, also a roadie. She likes Lair of the Bear, Bear Creek Lake, Green Mtn and Centennial Cone.
    I don't know that Mt. Falcon would fit into that category - quite a few water bar switchbacks and some long rocky sections.
    Last edited by dbabuser; 05-31-2009 at 02:02 PM.
    Golden Bike Park