Team Velveeta™

OT: ASP.Net VB.Net SQL Pros

If you have some proven skills and experience in these IT Technologies and you might want to make a change from what you're doing and where you're living, PM me. Possible opportunity for the right individual.
    Tom Purvis - Salida, CO - http://teamvelveeta.tom-purvis.com

"I like my wimmen like I like my beer--cold and bitter!"

..ouch
    And do it quick before those languages finish going the way of COBOL and you're left flipping burgers.

Team Velveeta™

sure, whatever

Quote Originally Posted by thump View Post
    And do it quick before those languages finish going the way of COBOL and you're left flipping burgers.
    OK, you're certainly right that the whole M$ way of doing things may obsolete. Or not.

Either way, I don't really care. I've been solving business problems with computers for 25 years. I've switched platforms and languages plenty of times. Logic is logic and applying your knowledge and problem solving skills to a business's needs is the real skill.

Any IT pro who isn't totally prepared to figure out new stuff in a matter of days or weeks deserves to be flipping burgers.

I have one of maybe 40 or 50 salaried IT jobs in Chaffee County right now. I'm making a living as an IT pro in a dinky little mountain town. It involves working with .Net. So what? I prefer it to working an hourly job in addition to running my own IT business like I did before this opportunity came along. I wouldn't care if I had to work with COBOL on MVS.

If and when this job or the .Net platform go away, I'll learn the next thing. Just like I have before. But for now I'll just keep making my house payments and earning my salary.

..ouch

whoa..

hey, just giving you a little ribbing.. sounds like you've heard it one too many times.

(probably cause it's true )

Team Velveeta™
    hey, just giving you a little ribbing.. sounds like you've heard it one too many times...