mtbr member

Need some advice...(already searched)

Okay- here is the skinny. My wife and I need to move to CO so she can attend college in Boulder. We would like to live somewhat near the school (within 30 min). We don't need a real fancy neighborhood, just safe enough that if you put your bikes in the garage or house, they should be there when you get home (did I mention we have areally big dog?).

I am a Manager in the automotive business and retail and also an announcer part time for a National series. Our income combined is about $55K per year (wife is a part timer). Would prefer an older, 2 bedroom at 1100 sq. ft or so, house or condo with yard. Living near infrastructure would be good so I can bike commute to a workplace.

I have been searching homes on realtor.com and found many in my price range- but am unsure which ones are priced lower because I will be shot at etc. We live in Phoenix now, so we are used to the crime that a large city presents.

After searching, it seems many of the threads seem to end up more south of Boulder and by looking at a map, our needs would dictate more east or north of Boulder. What do you think.
    Vassago Cycles, Shadetree Bikes, Flat Tire Bikes, Galfer Brakes USA

mtbr member
    Aug 2004

More info?

What price range are you looking at? For actual City of Boulder real estate, for under $300K you can find a house in Twin Lakes, Heatherwood or maybe Martin Acres that would probably work.

Boulder is very safe, but you do need to lock your bikes in your garage. Lots of bikes, lots of bike thieves.

Really, anywhere in Boulder has a safe bike commute to anywhere else in Boulder. Find the house you like.

If you want to get a nicer house for the money, Louisville/Lafayette/Longmont/Lyons/Broomfield are all within 30 minutes and generally safe. There are a few areas in Longmont and Lafayette that are a little dicey, but nothing like Phoenix.

Oh, So Interesting!