Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Low Landers VS Altitude

Hey CO Gang,

Planning a trip to the Breckenridge area in August. I've gotten a ton of great info from the other post about trips this summer, but my question is this, how bad will it be going from low lands (I'm at about 800 feet and my buddies are down around 300 feet above sea level) to riding around Breckenridge? We were going to go right there from Denver, but should we do a day closer to Denver to get acclimated? Would one day even help? We only have 4 days of riding so time is of the essence.
    Disclaimer: I no longer fix bikes for a living.
    National Ski Patroller to feed my winter habit.

mtbr member
    Oh yeah, most of the riding will be XC, but we want to do a day at Keystone on the lifts. Should we do that first to help with the altitude?

We were planning on doing it last to minimize chances of any vacation ruining injuries at the beginning. We had one guy break his arm on Porcupine Rim our second day in Moab last trip.

mtbr member

recommendations

1) Water - drink lots, bring lots on your ride.

2) Advil (ibuprofen) - bring it, use it as necessary.

3) Alcohol - abstain, maybe completely during your trip or at least until the end of the trip.

4) As you mentioned, do a ride closer to the front range (Denver) prior to traveling up I-70. It may help.

5) Get lots of rest at night.

Change in altitude affects everyone differently. Some people who live here still get altitude sickness when traveling up to higher elevations. Acclimation to the altitude varies from person to person. Some people acclimatize within 3 days. Others take a week or more.

My 2 cents worth. Have fun!

mtbr member

Rolling
    The best thing you can do is arrive in Denver, sleep a day.

Go to Breck and ride, then return to Denver and sleep.

You cannot really acclimatize in a short time . But since the most important thing is sleeping at low altitude, you can actually do that.