mtbr member

LBS in CO Springs

Got a buddy of mine that just moved to the Springs, he wants to start mountain biking and is looking for a basic hardtail. Can you all help me point him to some decent local shops in the Springs area? I would appreciate it.

He's looking in the $500-$700 range, probably Kona, Specialized, something along those lines....

Thanks,

Dwayne

mtbr member

Old Town, Criterium

I have not bought any bikes from any of the shops but I have had some good experiences with the staff at Old Town bikes (on Tejon). They have done some repair work very quick while I was in a pinch. They carry Giant, Fisher, Cannondale. I live by Criterium and buy some odds and ends there. The have a nice selection to look at; Giant, Cannondale, Specialized, plus some of the non mass produced bikes or frames; Turner, Monument. They are on Corporate Center Drive off Woodmen, near I 25. COlorado Springs Bike Shop has your basic assortment plus JAmis, but I rarely go there. COlorado Cyclist (East of Downtown on Bijou I think) is a big Santa Cruz dealer and I assume good service but have not purchased anything there. PLus there is Bicycle Village which I have never been in. Performance Bikes off of Austins Bluff has Ironhorse and some others. Tell him to hit a few of those.

Chillaxin 'n Chilcotin!
    Criterium is a good shop for the sub $1000 market. They have a pretty good selection and usually the employees are pretty friendly. Bicycle Village is a larger shop where prices are generally discounted vs. MSRP. If he is looking at a Specialized, he should shop Criterium for the service, price it at BV and then get Criterium to price match (if they would do that--if not, buy at BV).