Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Interesting Letter to the Editor

2K views 28 replies 19 participants last post by  DLine 
#1 ·
Boulder Daily Camera

CYCLISTS

Why don't bikes need a license?

I have been a Boulder city resident for 34 years and am a dog owner who also rides a bike and walks extensively on Boulder city paths and trails. I am required to pay $14 per year to license my dog. Now, in addition, I am required to pay an additional $15 for another license in order to walk my dog off-leash in the few areas where that is allowed. In addition, to get the second license, and pay what amounts to a double dog tax, I must watch a video which will tell me all about proper dog behavior.

It's been my experience that, with exceptions, it is the bicyclists who are the most misbehaved, rude and just plain dangerous users of Boulder's multiple-use trails and paths. They frequently pass walkers and other bikers at a dangerously fast speed and seldom give any warning. I believe it's an ordinance that when passing other bikers or walkers you must alert them that you're passing. I was riding my bike the other day and one of them passed me, with no warning — on the right!

Where I grew up in Evanston, Ill., everyone who rode a bike was required to purchase a bike license. And everyone who drives a car must have a license and pass a test showing that they know the rules of the road. I propose that anyone riding a bicycle in the Boulder city limits be required to watch a video on appropriate bike etiquette and pay a nominal fee for a bicycle license. Further that there be hefty fines for a) not having a license, b) violating the rules and c) endangering other users of the paths — including the dogs.

BARBARA LAMM
Boulder

Sounds like she's upset over having to license her dog and lashing out. It does make you wonder how people like this come to their conclusions about bikes.

See less See more
#2 ·