Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

New question here. Hitting jumps, air control

Howdy, I'm a noob. I guess I could have asked this in the beginners section, but I'd rather hear from people in my area.

I got a bike from a friend. I hit Walker's Ranch for my first outing of any sort, and first time with clip-ins, and almost soiled myself a few times, but I learned a lot and came out just fine albeit a few bumps and bruises.

I went to Valmont bike park yesterday after work. I live about half a mile from there. That place is so so sick! I had a great time, but I learned that I have no idea how to approach jumps. It all seems so simple, especially seeing others glide through the air with ease and total control... but it ain't

I was just wondering if you all have any basic tips for approaching, riding off of, and landing jumps. Am I supposed to kind of spring off? Should I be concentrating on having enough speed that I can just ride off the lip without any jumping? I don't even know what questions to ask really... Does this just come down to practice and repetition? I always seem to be a little out of balance in mid air and coming down awkward.

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    I think the best way to learn how to jump is just baby steps. Pratice on something small and just work your way up. Pratice going off of curbs and such and find something alittle bigger and bigger and bigger etc. As you feel more confident you will be able to just look at a jump and know if you can make it or not and how fast you need to be going and such. But the only way to know that is to have done it a 100 times before. Atleast that is how I learned.

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Tons of posts out there on this topic --- I'd recommend searching the DH/FR section. You may also consider this book: http://www.leelikesbikes.com/masteri...ls_2nd_edition very well written even for seasoned MTBers.

Thread Terrorist
    Don't put positive pressure on your handlebars for one.