mtbr member
    May 2008

First Single Track ride yesterday

I'm totally new to mtn biking. Bought a RockHopper Pro Disc about a month ago and after about 50 miles on paved trails I decided to venture out into the great outdoors yesterday.

I wish I would have had a video camera. With great rhythm I managed to rock back and forth between my front tire in the air to my back tire loosing traction. I was able to make a couple of climbs like this but most of the time it was off the bike.

What I learned - Plymouth Creek Trail out at Deer Creek Canyon probably wasn't the best choice for my first time out. And I'm going to have to get in a lot better shape.

I was hoping some people could make some single track trail recommendations for a rank beginner around the Littleton/Lakewood area.

I just need a place to practice and get in better shape. The ideal place would have some short (50 yrds) steep climbs (30 deg+) in a small loop so I could tackle it a couple of different times.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
    gl4pun

Stayin' Puft
    South Valley Park is across the road from where Deer Creek park is, and is very easy. You could drive to the upper parking lot of Mt. Falcon and ride around up there, some ok trails and you skip the big climb up from the Morrison lot.

You could ride at Waterton Canyon, build fitness by riding the fire road and then venture on to the single track little by little as you gain confidence. Or try Bear Creek Lake park...all I have seen out there has been pretty easy but I hear there is some variety of trails there.

Awesome that you are getting started, and do not be discouraged! The skills come over time, and it is a lot easier to work on skills if you are not gasping for breath, so fitness first will help. We are all still learning... :-)

The first big climb at Deer Creek is one of the steeper ones around by the way. Good for you if you tried that for your first time out and still want to ride!

holding back the darkness