Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    Goat of Legend

Experimenting with 9 speed gearing

I've been running a 2x9 set up on my 29er for a few years now and had considered going 10 speed but just not completely sold + dollars involved prohibit me even more.

Currently I'm running 22, 32 chainrings, 11x34 cassette

So I've been looking at ways to optimize my current set up. I'm ok with my low end gearing but always want something a little more when going down trails like Lower Gashouse, Sandy Wash, Rooney Valley, Picture Rock, high speed dirt road descents yada, yada.

I'm avoiding going back to a 3x set up as I still love the chunk and I always end up destroying the 44 tooth chainring in a few months of use.

So I spent the end of the night checking gear ratios, finding chain ring combos availability, cassette options and so on.

I think I've settled on 38, 24 chainrings and a 12x36 cassette or a 11x36.

The low end is only 2.7% harder and a 11x36 gives me an almost 19 % increase in gear inches with gearing spaced a little wider and a 12x36 gives me an almost 9% increase in gear inches with tighter spaced gearing.

Anyone else on the Front Range try this? I know I'm over thinking it and should just do it and probably will but I wanted some thoughts.

The 5th knuckle
    What ever is slower so someone else can actually see where you turn.
    Quote Originally Posted by Hernando Gutierrez
    The only thing you have to figure out is don't fall down. To keep riding the bike.

mtbr member
    That's a pretty wide range still with the 24/38 and 11-36. I don't think I'd worry about the slightly tighter spaced 12-36. you give up that extra gear that you mentioned you like.
    I'm really happy with my 39/26 on my new Cannondale 2012 Flash Carbon HT. That's a 10 setup, but with the smaller chainrings you should be good. I spend most of my time riding Indian Creek which is quite a bit steeper.
    Sounds like you're making a good choice to me.

I'm with stupid