pain intolerant
    Apr 2006

Endurance Coach Recommendation in Fort Collins Area ???

Has anyone used a fitness expert in the Fort Collins area to develop a mountain bike endurance training plan? I've never taken mountain biking beyond the "joy of riding" level, but am planning a few 60+ mile endurance rides this year and want to be in good enough shape to finish with a smile (and not be last ).

Not so much looking for regular "coaching", just a written plan specific to my current fitness and goals. I may end up just picking up one of the many books on the subject and develop a plan myself, but since I have zero training knowledge, thought I'd talk to someone first.

Thanks in advance.

bacon! bacon! bacon!
    Just ride a lot. Work your way up... 60 milers ain't that big.

mtbr member
    I'm in the same boat. I picked up the The Mountain Biker's Training Bible by Joe Friel. It is easy to understand and easy enough to layout a training schedule. I think the biggest difference between a DIY program and a Coach would be the extra motivation a coach would provide.

I think I can do okay with the physical fitness part, the nutrition/fueling part to prevent a sour stomach during long events has me more concerned. But I am reading up on that too.

slow
    Quote Originally Posted by jradin
    Has anyone used a fitness expert in the Fort Collins area to develop a mountain bike endurance training plan? I've never taken mountain biking beyond the "joy of riding" level, but am planning a few 60+ mile endurance rides this year and want to be in good enough shape to finish with a smile (and not be last ).

Not so much looking for regular "coaching", just a written plan specific to my current fitness and goals. I may end up just picking up one of the many books on the subject and develop a plan myself, but since I have zero training knowledge, thought I'd talk to someone first.

Thanks in advance.