Mountain Cyclist
    Oct 2007

Eldora Escape question

I guess this a general elevation question but I wanna know if I'm gonna be screwed or not. I live in Boulder, but I have to go to sea level the entire week before the race on Aug 24. I am physically fit, have been training, and plan on racing Sport. Is the elevation change before the race going to be a big/noticeable problem?
    Mountain Cycle Zen
    Mountain Cycle Moho STS
    Felt F75

skillz to pay billz
    just blood dope with some ned hippies, you'll be fine...

real fine

i can't type the letter s
    Caveat: I'm not an expert in the study of pulmonary etiology (lung and oxygen stuff) but I do know a bit about the biology of respiration, hypoxia (oxygen deprivation) and related issues. Not to be too much of a geek.

The short answer is you should be fine. The biological constraints that kick in, most notably the reduced production of 2,3 Bisphosphoglycerate that mediates oxygen / hemoglobin affinity, won't be affected in such a short time. This is assuming you are not B-12 deficient, your bone marrow functions properly (producing RBC's), you haven't had a spenectomy (spleen removed), you have normal Iron levels in the blood, and you don't have an allelic deficiency in the production of Hemoglobin, or any other genes involved in the respiratory oxidative pathway. I would eat Iron rich foods, leafy green stuff like spinach, to maintain a high affinity for O2 binding and take a B12 supplement, or eat a lot of red meat.
    I do this all the time not just for endurance training.

Good Luck!

Mountain Cyclist
    Oct 2007
    Ah, my head hurts. A lot of info there, although thats exactly what I was looking for...thanks for the breakdown.

If the iron-rich foods and b12 thing doesn't pan out, I may resort to hippie blood though.
    Mountain Cycle Zen
    Mountain Cycle Moho STS
    Felt F75

mtbr member
    Jul 2006
    just to add to mouse jockey's comments (which are pretty spot on):