mtbr member
    May 2011

Dumb Questions about Resort Riding

I am new to Denver, and just this past weekend rode at Vail. I was not a huge fan of the blue trails at Vail.

My stupid question is this----are there any resorts where the ride gets you some nice across the mountain up and down rather than just basically down? If not, are there resorts where the off resort riding is better than others? While at Vail I went across 70 and rode some and I also went down my Meadow Mountain (I bailed on it though because my Michigan legs weren't quite ready for a 5 mile climb at that altitude).

For reference, my favorite trails so far are Buffalo Creek and Lair O the Bear.

Thanks in advance

Chillaxin 'n Chilcotin!
    Why are you focused on resorts then? There are dozens (perhaps hundreds) of small towns in Colorado with networks of trails you can ride up and down on vs. the 4 towns with decent downhill resorts. In terms of resorts though, Winter Park (Fraiser Valley) probably has the best network of non-resort trails.

friend of Apex
    Shuttle Monarch Crest; or, as kristian mentioned, head to the Warrior Princess
    the drugs made me realize it's not about the drugs

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Not focused per se, but I usually go with wife and kid ----so that takes me to resorts where my wife is spa and shopping happy. I also try not to drive to far to ride from resort so I have more family time.

Awesomist™
    Many ski area that offer lift-accessed mountain biking do favor "trails that go basically down", many of them concentrating on downhill-style trails that can be ridden (or should be ridden) on longer travel "downhill bikes" even. Crazy, I know.