Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

deer creek challenge

1K views 11 replies 8 participants last post by  Flyer 
#1 ·
what an a$$hole
http://www.denverpost.com/extremes/ci_15945631
DEER CREEK CANYON - I'm not a lawyer, but it seems to me when someone throws tacks on a steep road just hours before a bike event that brings hundreds of riders descending through an area at a fairly high rate of speed, it ought to be construed as attempted murder.

And perhaps the person who threw those tacks on the High Grade Road in the foothills west of Chatfield Reservoir before Sunday's Deer Creek Challenge was disappointed because none of the 960 riders who took part in the event was killed or seriously injured. A couple of flat tires were the only damages he or she managed to inflict.

But despite the opposition of some canyon residents and the act of sabotage that managed to elude heightened vigilance by the Jefferson County Sheriff's Department, the controversial Deer Creek Challenge was a remarkable success for a first-time event - at least for those of us who rode in it.

It was touted as the toughest century ride in America with 12,751 feet of elevation gain. Riders also had options to do a metric century (7,053 feet of climbing) or a 33-mile ride (4,200 feet). I talked to several participants after the event, and every one gave it high marks.

"I thought it was a phenomenal ride," said Ken Bridges of Denver, 32, who opted for the century. "It takes a certain type of rider because of the climbs. I enjoyed it immensely."

Some canyon residents, already angry because the area attracts bicyclists by the hundreds on many weekends, made a fuss last year when event organizer Pat Downing applied for a county permit. The permit was denied, but it was approved this year.