mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Colorado Trail Segment 1

For those of you that have ridden Segment 1, how tough is it as an out-and-back from Waterton Canyon (is it in the same class as Indian Creek-Waterton Loop?)?? I've decided that I'm going to complete each segment in the next 2 years.. weekend warrior style, and am knocking out 1-5 right away before getting to the high altitude stuff.

I rode Segment 2 today, as an out-and-back, starting from Platte River, and found it easier than expected. I did Seg 2 instead of doing Seg 1, because I read that Seg 1 is challenging, and I am still in the process of getting back to the fitness level needed for long rides to be enjoyable, so I didn't think I was ready for it. I'm new to this sport as of last year when I moved here, so I'm no expert, but I'm decent for only riding for a year... Kenosha to Breck and Monarch Pass to Poncho Springs being my biggest accomplishments to date (last year, when I was in peak shape).

I ask because I read the initial climb in Seg 2 was "difficult", comparing it to a Mt Falcon/Deer Creek climb, but found the climb pretty mellow compared to those two. I didn't think I was ready for 34 miles (even though 12 of those miles are in Waterton) and steep climbs (which is what Seg 1 is described as). How much harder is Seg 1 over Seg 2?

Trips for Kids Denver
    If you didn't have any problem with segment 2 then you won't have a problem with segment 1. There is a little hike a bike up a seasonal stream bed and a couple loose steep stretches but they're short. Once you make it to the Platte turning around and climbing for 4 miles will get your attention especially if it's hot.
    " I'm not inclined to resign to maturity "

mtbr member
    segment 2 is relatively easy one, and the seg2 climb out of platte is fairly short and easy. seg1 climb out of platt is tougher and long. i think this is the clinb that is being compared to mt falcon climb. this is how i remember it, havent been there for couple years.