Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Now older but less slow!

Buffalo Creek - what trails?

I'm heading to buffalo creek tomorrow. This is my first time there. What are the standout trails I should be heading for and in what direction. Thanks.

Your bike is incorrigible
    Up Baldy, down Miller to Charlie's. Charlie's to Homestead. Down Homestead to Shinglemill and out. That's 15 miles. Personally, I like the north side better than south of FR550.

Now older but less slow!
    Okay, I have all day so this is what I am thinking.....

Park at the Buffalo Creek trail head.

• Head up Nice Kitty
    • Right onto Buffalo Burn
    • Right onto Colorado Trail
    • Question: is it worth dropping down Shinglemill and then climbing Morrison Creek back up to the CT?
    • Right onto Redskin Creek
    • Right onto Gashouse
    • Left to climb Baldy
    • Right to Miller Gulch
    • Left on Homestead then Left to Charlies Cutoff
    • Right then Left to Skipper
    • Right to Buck Gulch
    • Right to Strawberry Jack
    • Left to Homestead
    • Left to Raspberry Ridge > Blackjack
    • Left to Sandy Wash

and back to trail head.

Good all day ride or masochistic?
    Last edited by TheNormsk; 04-28-2013 at 08:49 PM.

zrm
    mtbr member
    Oct 2006
    Here's what I rode today:

Parked at Pine Valley Open Space park.

Climbed Buck Gulch > Skipper > Descend Homestead > (was going to do Raspberry/Blackjack but my technical mojo was elsewhere so I did Raspberry as an out and back, didn't feel like hurting myself) Charlie's cut off> Homestead > Sandy Wash > Climb Nice Kitty > Buff Burn >Roll up and down CT > Climb descend Redskin> Climb upper Gashouse > Descend Homestead > Descend Strawberry Jack.