Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Bike type for CO terrain

Hey, I moved out to Denver in Jan and am finally ready to ride some single track. Only problem is I need a bike. I was wondering if a hardtail is out of the question for the terrain here due to rockiness? I am new to mountain biking and want to make the right choice for the majority of the terrain here. Thanks for any helpful​ input.

bacon! bacon! bacon!
    Hardtail out of the question? Absolutely not. Many of us rode everything available on rigid bikes back in the day. Hardtail will be fine.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by SkaredShtles View Post
    Hardtail out of the question? Absolutely not. Many of us rode everything available on rigid bikes back in the day. Hardtail will be fine.

Must spread rep(!)...1st reply shoots "helpful" to sh!+

Edit: happy Monday!
    Naysayers never apologize. Critics go to their grave thinking everyone else is wrong.
    ╭∩╮( º.º )╭∩╮

Soulforce Cycling

Bike type for CO terrain

There are many days I wish I still had a good hard tail bike. Lots of fun.

There just might be some days you have to ride a little lighter in the saddle or choose a different strategy for hitting an obstacle. Not that there aren't tons of riders who can do everything there is to do on a hard tail bike, there are for sure.
    Soulforce Cycling | Riding apparel from size Small to 5XL. Visit us at - http://www.soulforcecycling.com

mtbr member
    I hear riding a hardtail 29er is just like riding a 26er with suspension
    It all depends on your tire choice...
    I drank the 29er koolaid- turns out it was POWERade

Total Goober
    Sep 2009
    I think most of the trails here are more fun on a FS bike. I have a HT 29er, and haven't ridden it since 2011.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuglio View Post
    You guys suck im all bummed now

pain intolerant
    Apr 2006