nice marmot.

Best Front Range Trail for Noobs?

Buenos Dias,

First off, nice to meet you all! just moved to Denver about 1 year ago from North Carolina.

Anyway... my wife's just getting back into the saddle after 3-4 years off. When we go ride, I ALWAYS pick the wrong trail for her, as I'm somewhat new to the Front Range. Any suggestions on the best trails to hone the fat tire skills?

So far I was deemed not as arse for taking her on:
    Green Mountain
    Buffalo Creek

While I achieved arse status on:
    White Ranch
    Walker Ranch

Your suggestions are mucho appreciated!

recovering racer
    Sounds like she doesn't like steep technical climbs. If that's true you may want to try the upper section of Mt. Falcon, particularly Parmalee Gulch. If she likes climbing, just not super steep or technical you could try the long steady climb up Castle (at least 45 minutes for a noob) from the Morrison-side parking lot. Matthew Winters is another place you could try although I rarely ride there. Not much elevation gain. Waterton Canyon is another easier ride with a long gradual fire road for the first 6 miles. For a longer non-technical ride you could try Indian Creek from the Waterton Canyon loop.

Other places where arse status is likely:
    Deer Creek Canyon - very rocky and steep in the first 20 minutes. Easy afterwards though.
    Dakota Ridge - technical, but little climbing
    Chimney Gulch - long semi-technical climb
    Apex??? - haven't ridden up in over a decade, but my recollection is that it's a technical climb.

Good luck and enjoy the riding.

Which way? Uphill.
    From what you said she likes and dislikes I would first recommend Waterton Canyon, 6 miles to the dam, another 1.5 miles to Lenny's Rest if you want to add in some non-technical climbing, about 18 miles total if you do the entire Roxborough loop (CCW is the direction to go).