Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Anyone ride Coulson or Lion Gultch?

851 views 5 replies 5 participants last post by  yogidave 
#1 ·
I'm relatively new to the Boulder/Longmont area and am looking forward to riding Coulson Gultch and Lion Gultch in a week or two. I've hiked both, and can't wait to ride them....

For Coulson, I know you can make a loop by going up Johnny Park Road ~2.5 miles to the North Sheep Mountain trip, but I've heard it's really hard to find the trail. I think once you find it, it should be about an 8 mile, 2+ hr loop finishing with a climb up the Coulson Gultch Trial. Does anyone have info about this loop? I've seen the Redstone Cyclery write-up, but I'm looking for advice on the trail.

Anyone have any suggestions about trails to follow in the meadow at the top of Lion Gultch?

Thanks.

Dave.

#2 ·
yogidave said:
I'm relatively new to the Boulder/Longmont area and am looking forward to riding Coulson Gultch and Lion Gultch in a week or two. I've hiked both, and can't wait to ride them....

For Coulson, I know you can make a loop by going up Johnny Park Road ~2.5 miles to the North Sheep Mountain trip, but I've heard it's really hard to find the trail. I think once you find it, it should be about an 8 mile, 2+ hr loop finishing with a climb up the Coulson Gultch Trial. Does anyone have info about this loop? I've seen the Redstone Cyclery write-up, but I'm looking for advice on the trail.

Anyone have any suggestions about trails to follow in the meadow at the top of Lion Gultch?

Thanks.

Dave.
Dave at Redstone is the man to talk to with questions about trails up there. He knows both areas super well - he's shown me all I know about either.

I know where the trail for Sheep Mountain starts on the road, but its hard to explain where its at. It may be best to ride it the other way once, or just head up there, start poking around with the intention of getting lost if need be.