Raider of the Lost Creek

(x-post) I crashed, ruined a rim, and now have questions.

Hello everyone. Thank you for taking the time to read this and offering your feedback.

I have been riding my Giant Trance 1 for about 3 1/2 months now and had my first "serious" crash yesterday. It happened as I was riding through a dip section on a local trail here in South Carolina. The bottom of the dip looked to be smooth, just like the 10 or so I had already rolled through, but as I rode down into it, the front wheel slammed into a deep rut which was filled with and covered in pine needles (didn't realize this until I surveyed the accident scene), and tossed me off the bike. Just a few cuts and scratches on my end, but when I picked up the bike, I saw that the front rim was severely mangled. I figured it was probably beyond repair, but just to be safe, and not create additional damage I pushed the bike out.

I took the bike to my LBS today and they said the rim was "Taco'd" and that it would need to be replaced. In most cases, this would be no big deal. HOWEVER...

I happen to be in the Clydesdale category as I weigh about 260 lbs. I ride mostly singletrack trails like those found at Harbison State Forest, FATS, Lynch’s Woods, etc…

So, here is my dilemma. The stock rims on this bike are WTB Speed disc, which apparently is their entry level wheelset. Because of my size, I was told that I may need to consider upgrading to DH or FR rims/wheels anyway. But this is where I run into a problem.