mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Wheel question: mavic en321 or sun Rhynolite?

I am 6'2", 230 pounds. Mostly XC riding on a hardtail. I cant decide between these two wheel sets.
    Mavic en321 or Sun Rhynolite. Both would be on Shimano XT hubs. The Mavics are $10 more, but that $10 doesnt mean much to me if they are better wheels.
    Any input?

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    I don't have any experience with the Sun Rhyno Lites, but I've been riding a Mavic en321 wheelset with XT Rear Hub and Quando 20MM front hub I bought from BycycleWheelWarehouse, and I've been thrashing the **** out of it for the last 4 months and their still damn near true. I am also a heavy rider, 5'9" 240lbs.

Back in the saddle
    6.0", 275. Been riding the Rhyno for 6 years on a hard tail. I jump, do drops, ride HARD, lots of bumps, logs, ledges, stairs, whatever. I'll ride anything. Wheels are the one thing I've never had to worry about. I true 'em once a year or so, just like I shower once a week whether I need to or not, and they beg for more.

They are heavy and ugly, just like me, but if I want to shed weight, I'll do it off my butt and keep the wheels strong.

My 2 cents.

I've had great success with Mavic too, so I don't think I'm dogging them. I was just surprised that my stock wheels on my ride held up so well over the years.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    I have a set of rhyno lites for my tandem. They have held a lot of weight without problem. No experience with those particular mavic rims.
    2010 GF X-Caliber
    2010 Trek 2.3
    1997 Ventana ECDM (tandem)
    1996 Mantis Pro Floater

Former Bike Wrench
    Both are good, but I'd take the Mavic rims for the simple fact that getting tires on Rhyno Lites can on occasion be a seven wheel b!tch (I've owned both).

Plus the 321's look better

mtbr member
    Nov 2004