Thread: Very new.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Very new.

Hey everyone! I'm really glad I found this community. I am 6'4" and weighing in at around 260 lbs. I am very new to bikes. I mean, I did ride them as a child, but nothing as of late.

I really have no clue where to start. I'm looking at getting a bike to assist with more cardio, and would like to know which bikes would hold my weight but not break the bank. I am definitely wanting to go on trails after I start getting into it.

Any and all help is appreciated!

mtbr member
    Mar 2004
    Welcome to the corral...

Everyone's idea of "breaking the bank" is different. What sort of price range are you trying to stay within?
    Klein Attitude XX
    Santa Cruz Heckler 6.1
    Surly Karate Monkey
    Surly Moonlander

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    This is true. I should have been more clear in the original thread. I'm thinking somewhere up to about $500 - $600 USD. Of course if I could get away with spending less would be ideal. I understand the rule for larger guys. We have to spend more for just about everything. I ideal would like to be spending around $300 - $400 USD.

mtbr member
    You can pick up a Hardrock Sport Disc for about $600, I have read that Clydes have been happy with those. If you take to this sport and start riding frequently plan on having to upgrade the wheel set in a short period of time and you will probably have to do that with any bike you get in that price range.

MaverickMotoMedia.com
    you'll end up having to upgrade nearly everything on the bike: drivetrain, wheels, pedals etc. I'm about the same weight and for what I've spent on repairs, I could have gotten a Specialized Carve. ymmv

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    Thanks so far for the information. I won't mind upgrading things at a later date. I first need to just get on a bike that I would be able to ride around my city, and on basic dirt roads at first until I become more comfortable on trails.