mtbr member
    Mar 2011

Upgrade my Bridgestone or get a new one?

Hi everyone. This is my first post here. I've been riding casually for the last 20 years. A little info about me. I'm 37 and 330 lbs., down from 375 last year. I usually bike during the summers only, and put a couple hundred miles on my bike each summer. Come fall/winter time (whenver the weather turns cold and rainy), it gets put away in the garage until the next spring.

I'm riding a Bridgestone MB-4 that I got in about 1994. Actually the frame is a warranty replacement from a Bridgestone MB-5 that I bought new in about 1990. A lot of the components were replaced at that time too, but nothing since then (except for a new saddle, tires, etc.). My Bridgestone is in good condition, and I mainly do street riding or fire roads so nothing tough on the frame, and I've never pancaked rims or anything of that nature. I often ride with my daughter on a trail-a-bike behind me. My goal is to get 600 miles on my bike this summer.

My questions is, if I have around $300-$400 to spend, should I upgrade my Bridgestone, or buy something like the Northrock XC-6 for $300 from Costco? My main reason for wanting to upgrade is to get a front fork with a shock. I'd love to go FS, but obviously my budget won't allow that.

This is a pretty great forum, and I appreciate anyone willing to chime in on my situation!

mtbr member
    I doubt any suspension fork you could easily buy today would fit on your bridgestone. In 1990 (actually, I think as long as Bridgestone sold bikes in the US) they used 1" threaded steerer forks, which basically aren't available anymore.

Even if you could, that would be butchering a nice vintage bike. $3-400 doesn't buy you much, I'd be thinking used. That Costco bike you mentioned, either the fork is going to do nothing, or is going to be way too soft for you, and finding a firm enough spring is likely to be a challenge.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008