Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Tubeless Clydes

mtbr member
    Nov 2012

Tubeless Clydes

Curious to what tubeless setups you big boys are running? I'm new to the game and in the process of building up a 29er. I was messing around with running tubeless CX tires on a set of WTB Laser TCS trails and at 250lbs they were definately burping, even when I used a Sealant compatible Kenda tire. OF course Cyclocross tires are much narrower than MTB tires so I needed a lot more pressure than your normal CX racer would use. I've read that with MTB tubeless it's much much easier because of the larger volume tires and that often times you don't need tubeless versions of tires.

So what are you guys riding on for tubeless and if you could include how much you weigh, I'd appreciate it. Specifically interested in knowing what you guys 235lbs and up are riding on. Also, any pitfalls your having with setting up tubeless would be great.

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    Honestly, i'd get a schwalbe if i were you. I'm 250lb 6'2 clyde and i ride some specialized tires right now, which i'm not necessarily impressed with. I've tumored out several non tubeless ready tires. Make sure you get something with thick sidewalls. The specialized tires are okay, the schwalbes are nice and the maxxiss crossmark ust's and ikon ust's are nice as well. I've never had any luck running tubeless nevegals...always burp and always tumor. I think Kenda is coming out with a thicker sidewall UST tire soon though..or already has?

One thing I always do is feel the sidewalls of the tires before I buy them. I'm the big and tall guy at the LBS that feels up every tire on the rack lol.
    2013 Ibis Mojo HD Special Blend with dropper post, hope/stans wheelset and hope x2/m4 brakes

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I'd go with kit that's intended for only tubeless. Big guys shouldn't mess around with "maybe it will be good enough"

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    ya, 10 posts now I can do stuff!