mtbr member
    May 2013

Trek Stache vs X-cal for Big Guy

I am a novice rider, 5'10 and 350 or so and am looking for a bike to help me continue on my weight loss journey (Down almost 50 already).

My riding will consist of a combination of paved paths, off road paths ( Horse trails and old train roads) and some trails with moderate ascent/descent, nothing crazy... Years ago I rode a GF HiFi Plus and had a Trek hardtail so I have experience with both.

I have spent some time in my LBS and it looks like a 15.5" frame will fit best, 17.5 leaves no room for the boys

I was hoping to keep it under 1300 or so but with the Stache 6 coming out that creates another option.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

R.I.P. DogFriend
    5'10" on a 15.5" frame? That sounds too small to me. I'm having a hard time imagining someone as tall as you needing a 15.5" frame. At that height, unless your legs are quite short, you should be getting toward 19" frame territory IMHO. You don't necessarily need a ton of room for 'da boyz', and the standover on the 15.5" Stache is only 1cm less than the 17.5" Stache. On the X-Cal, it's a 2cm difference and a tiny bit better standover for the same size in a Stache.

Get your bike based on the correct top tube length, not the standover. If the standover is that much of an issue for you, I'd recommend looking for a frame with the correct top tube length that has a dip in the top tube. Some WSD designs might be more 'nad-friendly' for you. Riding a bike that is too short in the top tube blows chunks, especially when you have to get your butt up off the saddle.

If your personal physical dimensions are a bit outside the norm, you may be best served looking into a custom frame. They will cost more, but fit is priority one on a mountain bike.

JMHO.

mtbr member