Super Clyde-ish
    Mar 2008

Toasted Freewheel???

So I'm relatively new to mt biking, purchased a brand new closeout '07 Iron Horse Warrior 3.0 from Performance last year...was a great deal as they matched the price from Randall Scott...$399

So after taking some time off during the holidays....ummm...yeah that's it, I'm inspired again, and my brother buying a bike helped too. So anyway with about 40 miles on my bike and my 6'2" 325lb (ex college football player, about 220lbs lean mass according to Valens Medical) my bike won't freewheel...happened about 1/2 way thru my ride last Sunday after a long climb (Mustard Hill in Whitting Ranch for you OC guys)

advice needed. Granted I know my bike was inexpensive, but it fit my budget and I'm riding
    Satin Black 2007 Iron Horse Warrior 3.0

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Easy fix. You can buy a replacement freehub from the LBS. I bought a new set of rims with cheap Deore hubs and the freewheel broke after 5 rides. LBS should be able to replace it for relatively cheap, but if you want to do it yourself here are instructions.
    http://www.parktool.com/repair/readhowto.asp?id=45

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    that bike uses a free hub not a freewheel... big difference FYI... freewheel has the ratchet mecanism built into the sprockets themselves...

free hubs on the other hand (what you have) have the ratcheting mechanism built into the hub itself.... you should just take it in to have your LBS take a look at it... it's not uncommon for clyds to kill these things... especially the cheap no namers (which it looks like they used on your bike)... if you LBS can fix it cheaply then awesome... if not you'll need a new hub... in reality it'll prob be cheaper to buy a new wheel from pricepoint or something with a better free hub...
    - Surly Disc trucker
    - '82 trek 560 roadie

29 some of the time...