mtbr member
    Feb 2012

Super Clyde Saddles?

I'm very new to the sport and looking for a replacement saddle on my Giant XTC 29er 1.

I'm 6 feet tall and weigh 290lbs. and my ass hurts like I've been someones b!&#h in prison for 19 years now.

Any suggestions on a good saddle for my 29er hardtail? (Already wearing bike shorts)

No talent hack
    Nov 2010
    I ride a Specialized Milano Gel. My ass went from prison life to pleasure ride over night. I am a bit heavier, but also taller than you.

The BEST recommendation I can give is to get your ass sized up. Figure out how wide of a seat you need before dropping ANY money on buying seats at random.
    Fat guys need bikes too.

mtbr member
    at 6 ft 290 you got a ways to go to before being considered a SUPER clyde, but try a selle italia gel flow max flite. Very comfortable on the nether regions. I'm 6'4" 260 and it's like buttah.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    For whatever reason, my undercarriage took years to toughen up and get used to riding on relatively 'normal' mtb saddles. there were a few that served me pretty and most are no longer made.

The WTB Comfort V was pretty good to me, but they only make it with a lycra type covering that I do not care for (as far as I know). If you could find an older one with the leather type covering, it would be much better.

There is one still made, but it may not agree with your riding conditions, and it weighs a bit more than the average MTB saddle, and that is the Brooks B17. This was very comfortable to me.

Just remember that what may be the ass-hatchet-from-hell to one rider, may be heaven-sent-to-earth for another.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Dont forget the Chamos Butter. A lot of times its avoidable abrasion that its the problem, not the actually pressure points.

mtbr member
    Dec 2011
    My saddle of choice is the prologo kappa pas. I like it so much it is on both my road an mountain bikes. For me it has been the most comfortable saddle i have ridden.