mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Still feel like a Noob

While I started riding the single track trails in 2012, and I didn't have a good year in 2013. I still love to ride!!!

I started with a TREK Marlin and then found this site and learnt some things. Mainly learned I didn't spend enough on my first bike. lol

Well I took the plunge and went up a bit and I pretty sure I did fine with getting the TREK Superfly Comp. I haven't taken it on any trails just yet, but rode around for some test and getting use to it.

Just from testing, I already know I will be doing a few upgrades to my Marlin. Nothing super special for the trails, but I plan to just use that one for everything besides the single track trails.

As the title of this thread mentions Noob, I will end it with:

I did not know, that bikes in a certain higher price range did not come with pedals. I thought my LBS was playing a game with me, when they told me to bring my pedals.
    TREK 2012 Marlin
    TREK 2013 Superfly Comp - Carbon

mtbr member
    Yup...you know you're stepping up to better quality when the bike doesn't have pedals. It's because it's assumed that someone buying such a bike wouldn't be using the cheap pedals that coming on lesser bikes. Someone more advanced will likely be using a nicer platform or clipless pedal and likely already own or will be buying them for the new bike.

Congrats on the new bike, I just got one myself the other day. Now if I can get some days off without rain I'll be in business.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psycle151 View Post
    Friggin' coward. Give me a red chiclet instead of debating like a man. You don't deserve your green blocks.

mtbr member
    Imo can't dis a Marlin lol. But the only thing stock is my seatpost now. I did it for the learning experience and the joy of tinkering though. Wasn't very cost effective lol.