This is totally unscientific but maybe it will help some of you. I am 6-1/230. Ive been riding for 20 years. Ever since I broke the rear hub on my Kmart Huffy and before Al Gore invented the internet, Ive known that a guy my size has special equipment needs. Here is what I have found through trial and error over the years. Some of this breaks conventional rules, but most rules are for your average height/weight rider. I believe that the very physics and momentum created by a heavy rider demands a lot of rule changes when building a bike.

First, my latest bike is 2005 Trek Top Fuel 110. Yes, its carbon and I have had NO problems or issues with flex etc. Ive run the heck out of it. So far Ive replaced (due to maintenance issues) nothing but the middle chainring, brake pads and a bunch of tires. Bushings are solid and I love the bike. Each of the following changes over stock have broken the conventional rules of what you may think, and each time Ive experienced improvements in ride and handling.

First, go with significant knobbies. Your momentum will cause you to wash out in corners if you dont have enough bite. A lighter guy can get away with smaller knobbies but when 230 pounds breaks loose, it doesnt like to hook back up. On the front, I use WTB Motoraptors or Continental Verticals. Panaracer Fires are a nice budget tire as well but third on my list. I used to go with low rolling resistance tires, but found Im actually faster and more confident with knobbies. On the rear, I tear up tires. If someone in the tires forums say the tire lasts a long time, it wont for me. So I go low budget on the rear. Panaracer Smoke Classic is great as is a WTB Velociraptor. The friction of climbing and slowing my momentum downhill wears the back like crazy. The paddle type rear tire gets me the added traction without tire spin or slip. Cant seem to get that with other tires.