mtbr member

Revel 1. 1st upgrade.

Need some advice. I'm new to mountain biking but am loving it. The problem I have is I'm a bid dude, 6'2 270. I'm trying not to go crazy with upgrades but have identified a couple things that are a must. I need to replace the fork and the brakes, both related to my size. I'm on a budget so its one thing at a time. I could upgrade the shock using suntours upgrade program for around 175 or so or i could get some bb7's, new levers and a 180mm rotor for roughly the same price. Anybody have an opinion on bang for your buck?
    Darren

mtbr member
    Which seems lacking the most? If you can swing it, maybe the fork and the front brake, replace the rear one later since front sees more braking than rear.

mtbr member

Re: Revel 1. 1st upgrade.

Both are pretty bad but the brake seems like more of a safety issue. I guess the better question is whether or not getting better brakes will exacerbate the nose dive when braking rendering the brakes less than ideal. Or whether I should just save u a bit and upgrade to hydraulic brakes after replacing the fork.

Sent From My Galaxy Note 2

mtbr member
    No need for hydraulic brakes unless you want them. The BB7's have more than enough stopping power.

If you are having stopping issues now, then yeah, I'd definitely upgrade those first. Front brake at least. As far as the fork, yeah, I'd imagine stronger stopping force would worsen the nose dive. You could possibly combat that by locking out the fork if you're able to. That's what I did on my RockHopper when I first got it. Rode it locked until I could afford an upgrade. I was 320 pounds at that time though.

mtbr member

Revel 1. 1st upgrade.

Is upgrading the front to 180mm rotor worth the extra money or is the difference negligible

mtbr member
    For the $5 difference in price, I'd go 180mm.

R.I.P. DogFriend