mtbr member
    Apr 2010

Listen! Recommendations for tough shoes in wide.

I have been using a set if Pearl Izumi Race shoes for two years and they are shot. I'm 6'8" and 280lbs. I need a tough set. I think a set with a wider footbed would be better. I've been looking at a set of Mavic Maxi shoes. Any input? Any better recommendations?

mtbr member
    510 impact

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I need a pair for SPD pedals.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    The Shimano XC50N shoes are pretty wide for a normal shoe. I'd say they are almost as wide as the Sidi Mega sizes.

mtbr member
    Shimano M088 wide fit. Best, toughest mtb shoe ever. Love mine, would never go back to Sidi's again. These things fit like a glove and are super tough. Just order 1 size bigger than normal. I'm normally a size 50, ordered 51... perfect.

wiggle.com.au | Shimano M088 SPD Mountain Bike Shoes - Wide Fit | Offroad Shoes

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    Quote Originally Posted by markymark View Post
    Shimano M088 wide fit. Best, toughest mtb shoe ever. Love mine, would never go back to Sidi's again. These things fit like a glove and are super tough. Just order 1 size bigger than normal. I'm normally a size 50, ordered 51... perfect.

wiggle.com.au | Shimano M088 SPD Mountain Bike Shoes - Wide Fit | Offroad Shoes
    Did you have issues with Sidi?

I just picked up a pair of Dominator 5's to replace a set of Mavic Rush that had parts falling off after only a dozen road rides and 3-4 mountain rides (I use the SPD platform for both bikes). I'm hoping they will last quite a while.

The Sidi's feel pretty wide compared to the Mavic's, almost too much so. But I do not have wide feet so they would probably be good for the thread starter.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Alias530 View Post
    Did you have issues with Sidi?