mtbr member

Raw in the Saddle

OK my Clyde Brothers, I have been riding for 3 years. I usually ride 15 to 18 miles on the trails with no problem other than getting a little raw in the seat. I can skip a day and ride again, but when I ride two days in a row I get really raw. I wear preimum padded bike shorts and use Butt Butter...my saddle is a Selle Italia with some padding, any suggestions ?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Something to check....

I had a saddle that was causing me problems. Further investigation revealed that the vertical clamp bolt was long'ish, and that the seat rails had collapsed a bit. The bolt was contacting the saddle when I sat on it. It was poking up into the bottom of the seat, ended up digging its way through the plastic, and was separated only by the thin naugahide. New seat, No problems.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Even some "premium" shorts can cause 'issues with your tissues'. One odd seam, or rough edge, can spoil your whole day ;~)

Also, make sure to shower as soon after a ride as possible.

I had 'bicycle butt' (a tender tucchus while riding) for several years before it finally went dormant. I would try all sorts of saddles and shorts, and nothing seemed to truly relieve it. Never did try 'butt butter'. At any rate, now, I can ride 10 days in a row and not think twice about it. Some people get over 'BB' sooner than others. I have wondered if it's worse for clydes since we put more weight on the saddle.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by jeffj View Post
    Even some "premium" shorts can cause 'issues with your tissues'. One odd seam, or rough edge, can spoil your whole day ;~)

Also, make sure to shower as soon after a ride as possible.