Optimum Value

Rate My Potential?

Hello everybody, I am not new to the forums, but have never posted up a topic here at mtbr. I know it can be difficult to answer questions about ones possible physical potential, but I have always been asking myself these questions since the day I started riding. To start off with myself, I am 245 pounds, 5' 11", and am 17 years old. I look like a bigger dude (probably the extra weight on me), but my legs are pure muscle, and have always been like that. My calves are large and as solid as steel (I used to play basketball so I would always be on the balls of my feet). There is almost no fat under my waist. I have a MASSIVE chest cavity, barely any upper body strength, and virtually tiny arms. I do Find most of my fat around my back and chest/abdominal areas though. My athletics have greatly improved since I first started exercising regularly. I now notice that I can withstand hours of riding with no problems, no pains. I never could sustain a maximal velocity for more than 30 seconds, but now I have greatly exceeded that, I can sustain over 30 minutes above 180bpm. I have always had a feeling of great physical abilities within me, but I will always ask myself if my weight is really holding me back? Will I ever be able to be as light as some other people? how much weight is a couple inches off the belly? Today I raced (sprinting, running) my friend who is probably between 100 and 150 pounds, plays hockey, and is very fit. He is a great sprinter because of hockey, with a high VO2 max (beep test score of 13), and during the race we stayed neck and neck with me barely passing him, but ended up resulting in a tie. This was about a 100meter run. What can I get from this? does this mean that I have untapped potential? That if I loose weight I can possibly become a better athlete? All these questions have been bothering me ever since I started riding and fell in love with riding. Overall, I still hold strong to my dream of becoming potentia