mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Purchase advice with sub-$1k for uber clyde at 315 lbs

After many hours of researching MTBR and other online resources, I'm finally getting a post in here to get some feedback on my upcoming purchase:

I'm 6' 1" , 315 lbs currently and on a quick drop the past month (down 45 lbs) from walking, diet, etc and want to step it up with bike riding and preferably even commuting to work 3+ days a week ASAP (5.5 mi each way with notable hills, but relatively good pavement. I used to ride a road bike on mainly flat surfaces every day but 20 years passing since then categories me as a beginner to intermediate rider, but not a complete noob.

Budget: as high as $1k, but prefer to keep $650+ knowing that at my current weight and possible commuting use I may be beating on this bike a bit to need even stronger wheels or regular LBS attention.

Type: hybrid vs. comfort bike? I'm leaning to comfort to increase the likelihood of me riding more and likely selling the bike in 6+ months once down a good chunk of weight again.

Material: for now I'm avoiding carbon due to my weight. I would still prefer go aluminum frame though vs old steel alloy.

Any front suspension? I'm wary of doing any front suspension at my weight, but figure if it has lockout I'll be fine for now and that might extend how long I keep the bike.

Gearing: given the weight and hills still involved here, I'm hoping to still get away with a 7 or 8 x 3 gearing but figure I can't cheap out or expect to break them and be stranded at some point.

Wheelset: 29er or 26"? a lot of advice has pointed to getting a 29er for an uber clyde like myself, but I have yet to ride one to be convinced. This is where I'd love to get the wheels I need on the bike but if I must buy (or have built) then obviously need to pay less for the initial bike purchase. Be sure to get 36H wheels vs. 32H regardless of diameter?