mtbr member
    May 2011

Problems with MTX 33 29 coming out of alignment.

I am just wondering if I would have had a real good wheel builder build this wheel if I may not be having the problem of having to re true my rear wheel all the time.

I jump small curbs at high speed and the back comes out of true regularly. I have Wheel Smith spokes. I bought these from Bens Cycle and they were take offs on some kinda bike they had laying around. They were in new condition.

Thanks for any help.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004
    A decent build - machine or otherwise - should hold up just fine. Those rims are plenty strong.

I personally would be suspect of take off spokes/nipples. I'd only trust new spokes/nipples - but that is just me. I am not an engineer, but would guess that a spoke can only be stretched once and remain at full strength.

You should discount my opinion, because based on my opinion of the logic and points made in your Obamacare thread you would consider me a pinko-liberal-mindwashed-unthinking-sheep. Just sayin'
    I was gonna stop by and see you, but the Jehovas witnesses came by. When they left I started drinking. Voicemail from Paul

R.I.P. DogFriend
    I don't think he's saying the spokes and nipples were used. I believe he's saying the wheelset was taken off of a new bike when the purchaser of that bike had different wheels to use (or bought upgraded wheels).

But, I do agree that those MTX-33 wheels, if built properly, should stand up easily to the use the OP described. JMHO.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Thanks, the back seems to need to be trued every 3 months. I am 275 and run over curbs but in a timed fashion.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    330 lbs and give my bike hell. Haven't touched my MTX33 wheels in a couple years. You need a good wheel builder.

mtbr member
    May 2011
    Thanks , who does yours? can I take it apart and get better spokes and redo it ?

R.I.P. DogFriend