L&L
    mtbr member
    Jan 2007

Please help the new guy

Hello everyone, I'm new to the sport and trying to do my research before buying my first bike (other then walmart bikes). I think i have it narrowed down to 2 bikes (more on that later).

First, my size is a factor, hence why i'm posting on this board...I'm 6'7" and about 230LBs. I went to my local LBS and he recommened 2 bikes (in my price point), the Marin bobcat trail, and a Jamis Durango 1. I would like to buy from his shop because he seems like an honest guy (he wouldn't even let me order a bike until i did some research, and he kept stressing how important strenth of the bike was for "us" guys).

What do you guys think about these 2 bikes? The marin's frame is is dead sexy and the componets are abit better then the Jamis, but the Marin has a rock shox dart 1 fork on it which i don't think can be fitted with stiffer springs (the Jamis forks can), although the bike guy said he might be able to do something...no idea what (mabey a different fork from the shop or a tweak on the current one...IDK).

I don't have a "riding style" or even know what kind of trails i will encounter. I will be bringing the bike to Korea for a year (I'm in the Air Force). The bike will be ridden everyday (no cars allowed), and i know there are hilly trails there.

Any help would be great, I would like to buy the bike soon so i can have it all sorted out, broken in, and tuned up before it gets shipped.

Thank-you for your time.

mtbr member
    Jul 2005