mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Overweight Newbie who is Overwhelmed

Hi,

I'm 6'2" and 335 pounds.

I want to buy a bike and am completely overwhelmed as to where to start my research. There is type of bike; what type of fork, brakes, wheels, gears, etc. So many different components to consider - so where to start??

I want to do bike paths, but also take it camping and so possibly do trails that are not paved. No jumping, no logs or rocks or anything.

My first instinct is a mountain bike because they are built sturdier to take more abuse than a strictly road bike. I have a bad back and am 50 years old, so someone suggested a "comfort bike" which seems to make sense if it's a cross between the two. I feel like I would be better to have the wider tires for my size, is this correct?

I know this is a total newbie question, but where are some good places to get an overall idea of what are absolute "must haves" for a heavy rider, versus what would be really nice if money were no object. Money is an object, and I really did not want to go over $1000. From what I keep reading, I get the idea not many people think it is possible to get a decent bike for under a grand.

My local bike shop is suggesting the Specialized Expedition or Crossroads.

Performance Bicycle has suggested:

Fuji Absolute
    Schwinn Sierra
    GT Transeo
    Diamondback Trace

Any comments on these particular models for my size?

Thanks very much for any help!
    Last edited by seahunter543; 03-03-2014 at 11:25 PM.
    No bike yet. But I have a really cool Boston Scientific Spinal Cord Stimulator in my back!

mtbr member
    You have three options IMO...mountain, road, or cross. If you think you'll do much time on the road and are sure you won't be hitting trails with lots of roots, rocks, logs, ect...a cross bike may be a great option. They can handle the road and dirt paths with ease. At 335# a road or cross bike will be just fine.