mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Noob Clyde Looking for help with bike

Hello,

I am a noob clydesdale to riding and have been researching bikes for months trying to get myself out and riding. My many attempts at purchasing bikes on craigslist has been rough given that the bike is always sold by the time my schedule allows me to check it out.

Enough with my above rant, and i apologize if this is in the wrong section. But i just emailed someone about a 2008 Specialized Enduro SL Expert (Specialized Enduro Mountain Bike, XL) that they have listed for $800 (which is somewhat pushing my budget, but i am willing to pay the amount for a worthy bike). So now my question is does anyone have an opinion on the price and the bike model and such? Also, do you have any other bike recommendations that i should do research on? my budget would have to be under $800, and i am hoping to buy off craigslist or ebay.

Facts about me: I am 23 6'4'' 265lbs and have a very burly athletic build (i played D1 college football as a offensive lineman up until a year ago and decided to cut weight from 330). I am looking to use the bike for trail riding and hopefully move into some small jumping after building my skills. Also i will be riding around town and probably doing some longer rides with possibility of hopping curbs and such (which i have done before with the bikes my friends let me borrow when they want me to ride around town with them. i just dont want to break their bikes given they are pretty cheap department store bikes). In general i am somewhat of an adrenaline junky whether it be snowboarding, surfing, etc..

I appreciate your help and recommendations, and once again apologize if i posted this in the wrong location.

mtbr member