mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Newbie looking for bike reccomendations. LBS has been no help! HELP!

To start, I'm 28 6'2 and 345lbs. I started out at 409 lbs and have working strength training and running approxiamtely 15-20 miles per week. I'm looking for a bike that I can ride back and forth to my local gym of a morning. I have been eyeing the Specialized Hard Rock. I called my LBS that sells Trek to also see if they carried a X-Cal 4. The salesman told me they didn't carry anything for people over 250 lbs and I would need to lose some weight before I started riding. My spending limit is around $700 out the door. Can you guys reccomend anything? Would the Specialized Hard Rock be a good choice?

Thanks

No talent hack
    Nov 2010
    Tell that LBS to go f#$% themselves and go to another shop. Yes, most warranties don't cover over 250 (or 300 in some cases), but a good shop will stand behind you regardless. Hearing this kind of crap makes me sick... heaven forbid an overweight person want to do something to lose some weight.

The weakest link in the cheaper bikes will be the forks. For just riding pavement, either bike will work fine. I would not be hopping UP too many curbs though. If you aren't taking it off road, I would look towards either a Trek FX bike or a Specialized Sirrus type bike. I recently bought a full on road bike (a Trek Domane, my first EVER road bike) and it is MUCH more rewarding to ride on road than my off road bike is on road.

You needs to find a bike shop that makes you feel comfortable. I was 320 when I started shopping for a full suspension bike and not a single shop around me talked down to me about my weight. In fact, all of the shops told me I was silly for worrying about it at all. Find your shop first, then let them help you pick a bike.
    Fat guys need bikes too.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014