mtbr member
    Jul 2009

New to Mountain biking, some questions

So i think this is my first post. Im just getting into mountain biking, and i found a Trek 800 sinlge track on craigslist for a good price, just to see if this is a hobby ill like, and i fell in love with it already.

Im a big rider, 6' 5" 320 lbs, and i figured this bike would hold me, and so far its done pretty well. I dont want to put alot of money into this bike, but i want to make it stronger.

Today out on the trail i managed to bend my left pedal pretty good when i came down on a rock. What is a good but not too pricey pedal for big people?

Also the grips on the handle bars are coming off, and one has a hole in it, are all grips pretty much the same, or are there some with higher quality that wont fall apart so fast?

I think thats it for now. Thanks

mtbr member
    I don't ride platforms so I won't bother giving you a suggestion for pedals, but as far as grips go get a pair of lock-ons. Pretty much every bike shop have them, and you'll never have to worry about them slipping. They normally run around $20-$30.

mtbr member
    Jul 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by sixate
    I don't ride platforms so I won't bother giving you a suggestion for pedals, but as far as grips go get a pair of lock-ons. Pretty much every bike shop have them, and you'll never have to worry about them slipping. They normally run around $20-$30.
    Was just reading about lock ons and seems like the way to go, thanks.

Not a lurker
    IMO, platform pedals are all about the same. Sure some are better but if I was you I'd just get a mid-priced set of metal platform pedals. Another thing you might look into upgrading is the rims or even the whole wheelset. Rims/wheelset can make or break a bike.
    ^Rides a Specialized
    MTB Name = Leg Ripper Offer
    I'm Mormon. =)

Mojo MadDuc

Grips

EJames,