mtbr member
    May 2014

New Guy looking for some advice

Firstly hello!

I'm new to the sport and after having a great time on hire bikes at Grizedale in the lake District a couple of months back I have now got some spare cash together to buy my own! I'm coming on here to seek advice from people who are hitting the trails regularly and I'm sure all you veterans will have seen hundreds of posts similar to this, however hopefully at the end I'll let you know what I've gone for, how I get on on my first ride and you never know it might help someone else in my position.

A bit about myself

I'm a physically fit 6'5" guy, I weigh around 260lbs though this will be dropping to around 240 over the next couple of months so I guess I need something heavy duty.

How I will be riding/ Performance I'm after

I have a kind of 'Challenge Accepted!' Mentality so err...yeah I kind of want something robust. That said most of the trails I will be doing will be pretty easy stuff so the girlfriend can come along.

Budget and Technical stuff

I have a budget of around 600. I've been doing research online but it is quite overwhelming. I have also been into a couple of big chain shops but neither of the young sales assistants could really answer my questions. I then went to couple of smaller dealers but they only stocked couple of brands and I couldn't test ride at either.

From the research I've done it would appear I'm looking for a Hard tail with a XL frame, air forks if possible and hydraulic brakes. I thought I had wheel size sorted with going for a 29er but one dealer told me that I might be better going for a 27.5 as it will be a tougher wheel for someone my weight.

Bikes I have been looking at:

http://www.giant-bicycles.com/en-gb/bikes/model/revel.29.er/11859/56885/?bike_model_id=56730#overview

http://www.tredz.co.uk/.Scott-Aspect-940-Mountain-Bike-2014-Hardtail-Race-MTB_66836.htm

What do you guys reckon to these two? Or can you recommend any others in the 600 range?