mtbr member

Need suggestions for a cheap entry bike.

It was suggested to me to re-post this in this section.
    Please pardon my ignorance, I just don't know much.

I need some ideas/thoughts on a low budget noob setup. I am a poor college student and can't spend too much, at the same time I know you get what you pay for which is why I want to avoid the wal-mart/target bikes. Is it even possible to get a decent setup for around $300?

I've done some searching and have found these

Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 400HT
    Save up to 60% off Mountain Bikes - MTB - Fuji Tahoe 29 PRO
    Save up to 60% off Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 450HT

There are a few others i've seen around at that price range. Will these be alright? Will my weight be a concern? 260 lbs/6'1" (which is why I'd like to get into biking). Can these cheaper bikes actually handle trail riding?

If I do go shopping for used deals at the local shops and pawn shops what should I look for and avoid?

Any input is greatly appreciated!!!
    Civility is the lubricant of society.

Suckin wind like a boss
    Those motobecanes can definitely handle trail riding, and can definitely handle a big guy. i started on a moto 700HT, basically the same exact frame that is on the ones you linked, only somewhat better components. i started riding at 267# and the only things that have broken have been saddles (bad form on my behalf), a bent seatpost (same bad form), and the rear hub- that one i attribute to being low-end gear on an entry level bike.

i have upgraded a LOT of the components on my moto- most of them actually. no, i didnt break them all, but i sure rode the piss out of them til they needed replaced.