mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Need A Stronger Seat!!

so i just bought a new bike not a very expensive one but it was good value for what i paid for it, anyways first ride out i am already noticing the seat bending a bit! i am a big guy 6' 300lb and i need a Strong seat i will need to pick up one asap i am a newb so i dont know alot about seats yet

turtles make me hot
    I weigh about 260 and I've been riding with a WTB Rocket V for a couple of years now. Mine has steel rails. Also make sure your seatpost has a nice big clamp on it to spread the load. A small one will stress the rails.
    I like turtles

mtbr member
    I like to use a WTB Power V, which has bigger rails (8mm instead of 7mm IIRC). I used to go through seats often until I got it. I've been on the same one for a couple of years now. Be warned though; I broke 2 generic seat posts last year, probably as a result of the stronger seat rails. I now have a stronger seat post too.

No talent hack
    Nov 2010
    WTB Comp V here.... I am taller and heavier than you and I have not had a problem and it is comfortable to boot.
    Fat guys need bikes too.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    what should i be looking for as for construction such as the rails?

mtbr member
    My stock seat on my RockHopper has held up great under my 300+ pound load. My Specialized Avatar has as well and is VERY comfy.
    Quote Originally Posted by Psycle151 View Post
    Friggin' coward. Give me a red chiclet instead of debating like a man. You don't deserve your green blocks.

R.I.P. DogFriend

Does your saddle/seatpost look like this?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    what do you mean does it look like that? what the diference i am a newbie if the queation sounds stupid

R.I.P. DogFriend

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    ok i just adjusted mine thinking that might be the cause it was adjusted almost all the way forward

Former Bike Wrench